Enjoy your youth

Enjoy your youth. You’ll never be younger than you are at this very moment.

Being just sixteen, I have lived the very few years of my life thinking about the future and wishing to be older. I have always made plans for the future from Alevel subject choices to how many children I would like and where I would like to be in twenty years time. I have a bucket list in the making containing everything I wish to do with my life, many items on which can only be fulfilled in the far future. I am not one who is free spirited enough to live life for how it is; I need structure, goals and something to be motivated for.

But a year or so I met a guy named Tony. We met at a concert we took part in as we both play the violin. He is considerably older than me but I don’t think he would mind me saying he also acts half my age. He is also the one who is responsible for my change of opinion when it comes to goals for the future. He never plans too far ahead in time and always ‘had a go at me’ for wanting to be older. I feel that he was jealous of my age and he wants to be my age again.
Anyway, earlier today he said: ‘Age is an issue of mind over matter, if you don’t mind then it doesn’t matter.’

It has made me realize: it is comforting and safe to have my bucket list but my blueprint for my life can be restricting and can take the fun out of living. It’s not about the future and what will happen to me, it is about the present and enjoying everything as it comes.

Thanks Tony, saved me from being suffocated by my own aspirations for  life to come.

Do not worry about the past because it is gone, do not worry about the future because it is yet to come, live in today and embrace it!

One Comment to “Enjoy your youth”

  1. From the age of 52, I’d like to advise you to do both!

    Plan ahead and enjoy your now

    Have a plan and leave enough space in it for flexibility

    Doing both means you’ll have/do/love more wonderful things, peopls and experiences 🙂

    Catherine
    Foresight

Leave a Reply

